Logo Netzwerk Stadt Landschaft NSL
Logo ETH Zürich
deutsch »
français »
italiano »

 
/// Projects / NSL Projects

NSL Projects

Selected current and completed projects include:

Future Cities Laboratory
This century will, for the first time, see over half the world’s population living in cities. Making these urban structures environmentally and economically sustainable and liveable is one of today’s great challenges. This is why ETH Zurich will start with the “Future Cities Laboratory” programme in Zurich and Singapore. The Future Cities Laboratory in Singapore is not the only commitment by ETH Zurich to promote sustainable urban development worldwide. ETH Zurich helped to found an Institute for Urban Development at the University in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia. The research at the FCL focuses on three scales: sustainable building technologies, the city as an urban system, and the relationship between urban and rural environments. The architects, planners and scientists see and design the city as a dynamic system in which people interact and in which resources such as energy, water, space, capital, materials or information are constantly in flux. Collaboration with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Results

Urban Potential and Strategies in Metropolitan Territories
 using Zurich’s metropolitan areas as examples (NFP65)
The goal of this project is to update the concept of urbanity. Three case studies in the metropolitan region of Zurich form the background of a confrontation with a contemporary city region and the question of the qualification of specific urban constellations. Reproducible and comparable tasks should be worked out for the sustainable accomplishment of current planning and design tasks. In the process, historical, design and sociological aspects will be drawn upon as well as a careful consideration of the available resources for urban development and transformation processes.
This research project was conducted with the participation of the Chairs of Marc Angélil, Kees Christiaanse, Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani, Christian Schmid and Günther Vogt. Results / Handbook

Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab – LVML
The newly founded inter-departmental Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab is a competence center for research projects and exercises within the teaching context through the application of current technologies in the areas of landscape visualization and modeling. The computer-supported lab is the first in Europe that links the processing of GIS information with modern 3D visualization and CNC modeling techniques. It is seen as a further development of the state-of-the-art visualization lab initiated in the 1980s by the Institute for Local, Regional and National Planning (ORL ETH) in cooperation with the Departments of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering and Architecture.
This project was conducted with the participation of the Chairs of Christophe Girot and Adrienne Grêt-Regamey.

The Swiss Spatial Sciences Framework (S3F)
The working group Spatial Sciences, composed of members of the ETH Zurich, the EPF Lausanne and the WSL, has been mandated to define research objectives in the field of spatial sciences which will be meaningful for future development in Switzerland and in Europe. In order to carry out this task, the working group is conducting a threefold symposium, in which national and international experts will be asked: «What are the crucial research questions in the spatial sciences in Switzerland and in Europe?»

Future of Urbanised Landscapes
From 2004 to 2006, the Network City and Landscape (NSL) took on the interdisciplinary research project: The Future of Urbanised Landscapes; which investigated the characteristics, forms, functions and development of urban landscapes in five specialised areas. Urbanised landscapes are shaped by the economic activities of people and structurally urbanised landscape sectors. The goal was to formulate methods and instruments as well as a concept for the planning, design and presentation of these kinds of spaces. The main area under consideration was the Glattal, located in the northern part of the city of Zurich. This suburban space between the Zurich Airport and the Greifensee has developed very dynamically in recent years. Considering the advancing levels of change and density, the importance of urbanised landscapes must be recognised and their importance for the quality of life of the residents must be acknowledged.

Logo Netzwerk Stadt Landschaft NSL
Logo ETH Zürich
english »
français »
italiano »

 
/// Projekte / NSL-Projekte

NSL-Projekte

Eine Auswahl laufender und abgeschlossener Projekte:

Future Cities Laboratory
Dieses Jahrhundert wird zum ersten Mal mehr als die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung in Städten leben. Diese urbanen Strukturen ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltig und mit Lebensqualität zu entwerfen, ist eine der grossen aktuellen Herausforderungen. Deshalb hat die ETH Zürich das «Future Cities Laboratory»-Projekt (FCL) in Zürich und Singapur gestartet. Die Forschung beim FCL konzentriert sich auf drei Themen: Nachhaltige Bautechnologien, die Stadt als urbanes System und die Beziehung zwischen städtischer und ländlicher Umwelt. Die Architekten, Planenden und Wissenschaftlerinnen sehen und entwerfen die Stadt als dynamisches System, in dem Menschen interagieren und wo Ressourcen wie Energie, Wasser, Raum, Kapital, Material oder Informationen ständig im Fluss sind. Zusammenarbeit mit dem Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
Ein Forschungsprojekt unter Beteiligung u.a. der Professuren von Marc Angélil, Kay W. Axhausen, Kees Christiaanse, Christophe Girot, Adrienne Grêt-Regamey, Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani und Christian Schmid. Abschlussberichte

Urbane Potentiale und Strategien in metropolitanen Territorien
. Am Beispiel des Metropolitanraums Zürich (NFP65)
Dieses Projekt hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den Urbanitätsbegriff zu aktualisieren. Drei Fallstudien in der Metropolitanregion Zürich bilden den Hintergrund einer Auseinandersetzung mit der zeitgenössischen Stadtregion und der Frage nach der Qualifizierung spezifischer urbaner Konstellationen. Unter Einbezug historischer, gestalterischer und soziologischer Aspekte und unter Berücksichtigung der für urbane Entwicklungs- und Transformationsprozesse einsetzbaren Ressourcen wurden nachvollziehbare und vergleichbare Angaben zur nachhaltigen Bewältigung aktueller Planungs- und Entwurfsaufgaben erarbeitet. 
Ein Forschungsprojekt unter Beteiligung der Professuren von Marc Angélil, Kees Christiaanse, Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani, Christian Schmid und Günther Vogt. Abschlussberichte / Handbuch

Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab – LVML
Das departementsübergreifende Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab ist durch den Einsatz aktueller Technologien im Bereich der Landschaftsvisualisierung und -modellierung ein Kompetenzzentrum für Forschungsprojekte und Anwendungen innerhalb der Lehre. Das computergestützte Lab ist das erste in Europa, das die Verarbeitung von GIS Informationen mit modernen 3D Visualisierungs- und CNC-Modellierungstechniken verknüpft. Es versteht sich als Weiterentwicklung des in den 80er Jahren vom Institut für Orts-, Regional- und Landesplanung (ORL-ETH) in Zusammenarbeit von D-BAUG und D-ARCH initiierten state-of-the-art Visualisierungslab.

The Swiss Spatial Sciences Framework (S3F)
Die Arbeitsgruppe Raumwissenschaften, bestehend aus Mitgliedern der ETH Zürich, der EPF Lausanne und der WSL, hatte den Auftrag, für die Zukunft bedeutende Forschungsziele im Bereich der Raumwissenschaften in der Schweiz und in Europa zu definieren. Um diesen Auftrag zu erfüllen, führte die Arbeitsgruppe ein mehrteiliges Symposium durch, an dem nationalen und internationalen Experten und Expertinnen die folgende Frage gestellt wird: «Was sind die entscheidenen Forschungsfragen im Gebiet der Raumwissenschaften in der Schweiz und in Europa?». (Laufzeit 2006-2010)

Zukunft urbane Kulturlandschaften
Das Netzwerk Stadt und Landschaft (NSL) hat sich im trans- und interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt «Zukunft urbane Kulturlandschaften» (Laufzeit 2004-2006) zur Aufgabe gestellt, in fünf Teilprojekten Funktion und Entwicklung urbaner Kulturlandschaften zu untersuchen. «Urbane Kulturlandschaften» sind durch Aktivitäten des wirtschaftenden Menschen geprägte und strukturell urbanisierte Landschaftsausschnitte. Ziel war, Methoden und Instrumente sowie Leitbilder für Planung, Entwurf und Gestaltung dieser Räume zu formulieren. Als hauptsächliches Referenzgebiet diente das nördlich der Stadt Zürich gelegene Glattal. Dieser suburbane Raum zwischen dem Flughafen Zürich und dem Greifensee entwickelt sich sehr dynamisch. Aufgrund der fortschreitenden Umwandlung und Verdichtung gilt es, die Bedeutung von urbanen Kulturlandschaften anzuerkennen und sich der Lebensqualität für die Bevölkerung anzunehmen.