Logo Netzwerk Stadt Landschaft NSL
deutsch »
français »
italiano »

 
/// Home / NSL – Network City and Landscape

NSL – Network City and Landscape

Through research and teaching, Network City and Landscape (NSL) aims to lay the foundations for a design of our environment that meets human needs, is sustainable, and has high aesthetic and cultural qualities, while finding a means to make this design available to the public.

The subjects of study are the city and landscape, and the phenomena occurring simultaneously in both. It comprises questions of perception and function, objectives, design and developmental guidance. On the one hand, this involves the objective collection of data relating to the environment, connecting them and translating them into strategies for action, and on the other, the subjective application of these strategies with respect to cultural and aesthetic qualities in a clearly defined physical form.

In order to provide a comprehensive survey of aspects of urban and landscape design, Network City and Landscape includes architecture, engineering and the social sciences. It is subdivided into five institutes, each of which belongs to the departments of either architecture (D-ARCH) or civil, environmental and geomatics engineering (D-BAUG). The institutes work on problems relating to specific sites as well as broader questions through interdisciplinary collaboration relating back to the network as a whole.

Logo Netzwerk Stadt Landschaft NSL
english »
français »
italiano »

 
/// Home / NSL – Netzwerk Stadt und Landschaft

NSL – Netzwerk Stadt und Landschaft

Das Netzwerk Stadt und Landschaft verfolgt das Ziel, in Forschung und Lehre Grundlagen für eine menschengerechte und nachhaltige sowie ästhetisch und kulturell anspruchsvolle Gestaltung unserer Umwelt zu entwickeln und diese für die Öffentlichkeit verfügbar zu machen.

Gegenstand seiner Arbeit sind Stadt und Landschaft sowie die Gleichzeitigkeit ihrer Phänomene. Dabei geht es sowohl um Fragen der Wahrnehmung und Funktion, der Zielsetzungen als auch der Gestaltung und Entwicklungssteuerung. Dies betrifft auf der einen Seite die objektive Erhebung von umweltrelevanten Daten, ihre Verknüpfung und ihre Übersetzung in Handlungsstrategien und auf der anderen Seite die subjektive Umsetzung dieser Strategien hinsichtlich kultureller und ästhetischer Qualitäten in einer klar definierten physischen Form.

Um einen Überblick über Aspekte der Stadt- und Landschaftsgestaltung zu geben umfasst das Netzwerk Stadt und Landschaft Architektur-, Ingenieur- und Sozialwissenschaften. Es ist in fünf Institute gegliedert, die jeweils den Departementen Architektur (D-ARCH) oder Bau, Umwelt und Geomatik (D-BAUG) zugeordnet sind. An den Instituten werden sowohl Problemstellungen spezifischer Orte als auch übergreifende Fragestellungen in interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit mit Blick auf das Ganze im Netzwerk bearbeitet.