© Vitra Design Museum Archiv

Prof. Dr. Tom Avermaete | History and Theory of Urban Design

Communities of Tacit Knowledge: Architecture and Its Ways of Knowing

«Communities of Tacit Knowledge» focuses on the concept of «tacit knowledge» in architecture and urban design. Tacit knowledge is a specific type of knowledge that architects employ when designing, which is embodied in the material vectors that they design with – from treatises and drawings to models and buildings. The Innovative Training Network (ITN) will train young researchers in the development of advanced theoretical frameworks and specialized methods for the analysis of the specific knowledge that architects and urban designers use when designing buildings and cities. It focuses on the characteristics, the dissemination and the heuristic potential of this knowledge. Structured around three training axes: (1) Approaching Tacit Knowledge: Theories and Histories, (2) Probing Tacit Knowledge: Concrete Cases and Approaches, and (3) The Projective Capacities of Tacit Knowledge, the TACK ITN for the first time combines the expertise on tacit knowledge that has been developed at ten different research centres in Europe. Together with three cultural institutions and nine architecture firms, these ten research centres will train a group of scholars to explore and conceptualize the very character of tacit knowledge to better understand its potential in addressing new and pressing issues in the built environment from alternative vantage points. This powerful combination of expertise from industry and academia will introduce young researchers to new heuristic methods.

© Vitra Design Museum Archiv.
Communities of Tacit Knowledge Architecture and its Ways of Knowing, webarchive © TACK Communities of Tacit Knowledge
© TACK Communities of Tacit Knowledge – Communities of Tacit Knowledge Architecture and its Ways of Knowing, webarchive

Prof. Dr. Tom Avermaete
Prof. Dr. Ir. Janina Gosseye
Prof. Dr. Tim Anstey
Prof. Dr. Ir. Margitta Buchert
Asst. Prof. Gaia Caramellino
Prof. Dr. Ir. Christoph Grafe
Prof. Dr. Ir. Klaske Havik
Assoc. Prof. Jennifer Mack
Prof. Dr. Helena Mattsson
Prof. Dr. Barbara Penner
Prof. Dr. Gennaro Postiglione
Prof. Dr. Peg Raws
Prof. Dr. Ir. Angelika Schnell
Prof. Dr. Ir. Lara Schrijver
Asst. Prof. Dr. Eva Sommeregger

Architecten De Vylder Vinck Taillieu
Korteknie Stuhlmacher Architecten
De Smet Vermeulen architecten
One Fine Day architects
SOMA Architecture
Onsite studio
Haworth Tompkins

Het Nieuwe Instituut (HNI)
Vlaams Architectuurinstituut (VAi)
Architekturzentrum Wien (AzW)

Hamish Lonergan
Eric Crevels
Anna Livia Vørsel
Mara Trübenbach
Filippo Cattapan
Claudia Mainardi
Paula Strunden
Ionas Sklavounos
Jhono Bennett
Caendia Wynbelt

Korinna Weber

Project timeframe

2019 – ongoing