© FCL Global

Future Cities Lab Global

Sustainable Cities and Settlement Systems
Through Science, by Design, in Place, Over Time

Future Cities Lab Global (FCL Global) addresses the globally significant challenges of rapid regional transformation, and aims to create a better understanding of the relationships between cities, rural communities and their surrounding regions, so as to make settlement systems more sustainable.

While the first 10 years of FCL focused on cities and their development, FCL Global now expands that focus to address the corridors and networks connecting cities with a variety of other communities and with their regions – in other words the ecological system of topography, watersheds, and rivers, and the infrastructural system of roads, ports, and airports – in light of their reciprocal impacts on land use and ecology. This will also spark new research methods and approaches, helping communities to shape their habitats in more holistic ways.

FCL Global is a research collaboration between ETH Zurich and three Singapore universities – National University of Singapore (NUS), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) and the Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) –supported by the Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF). FCL Global is co-located at ETH Zurich and at the Singapore-ETH Centre (SEC) – a partnership established in 2010 between ETH Zurich and NRF at its CREATE campus.

The research programme is led in Zurich by Director Prof. Sacha Menz and Associate Director Dr Matthew Skjonsberg, and in Singapore by Director Prof. Stephen Cairns and Associate Director Dr Tanvi Maheshwari. It will bring together 120 designers, engineers, architects, environmental scientists, economists and social scientists over the course of the programme.

Our Approach

FCL Global combines qualitative and quantitative challenges, big and small scales, general and specialized views involving many research disciplines, traditions, and interests, together with social needs. Working both top-down and bottom-up, FCL Global addresses social equity through cultural values, and ecological equity through intact natural systems. Beyond interdisciplinarity, the FCL Global programme addresses transdisciplinarity – that is, engagement with local, non-expert stakeholders and residents of the regions where the research is based, including the young and old, rural and urban.

The FCL Global programme takes a holistic view of settlement systems in their ecological and infrastructural dimensions, and operates holistically from the orientation of science, design, engineering, and governance – bringing together four streams of thought: through science, by design, in place, over time.

Through Science

To achieve sustainability, science provides the basis for understanding how cities and settlement systems develop and interact with the environment at different scales. Settlement systems are composed of ecological armatures and infrastructural armatures, physical stocks, resource flows, social institutions, and cultural catalysts whose interactions generate a quantifiable ‘metabolism’. The scientific focus of our research is to understand how such metabolisms interact with natural systems and how they might be sustainably planned.

By Design

A sustainable settlement system must also be liveable. To achieve liveability, design is essential – and it begins with a close look at the local context. Design is a collaborative process that generates new ideas and brings them to fruition. Design skills bring often conflicting technical, economic, social, and cultural demands (such as environmental sustainability, profit, comfort, convenience, identity, security, satisfaction, and desire) into dialogue to create transformational plans and visions.

In Place

Science and design are effective only if they serve places and the lives that are lived in them. Places result from common processes (growth and decline; competition and cooperation; ebb and flow of capital, people, goods and ideas; and climate change) and differentiating factors (geography, culture, language, and history). Our research addresses diverse lived places, from compact cities with high population densities to extended settlement systems with a mosaic of rural and urban land uses.

Over Time

Cities and settlement systems are never the result of singular actions of individual institutions. Rather, they take shape over time – be it the gradual accretion of historical city fabric and settlement landscapes, or the rapid transformations of ‘modernisation’. The temporality of change also has a trajectory. In this sense, sustainable cities and settlement systems must be shaped according to more cyclical, rather than linear, trajectories, in which the many and varied lifecycles of landscapes, buildings and infrastructures are taken into account.

The first phase of FCL Global includes eight research modules:

Resilient Blue-Green Infrastructures
Enabling Transformation Towards Livable and Climate-Resilient Flood-Prone Landscapes of Tropical Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Adrienne GRÊT-REGAMEY (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)

New Urban Agendas under Planetary Urbanisation
Designing Sustainable Agri-Urbanisms
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Christian SCHMID (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich), Prof. Milica TOPALOVIĆ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

Circular Future Cities
Systemic Innovations Supporting Circular Economies in Construction
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stefanie HELLWEG (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Powering the City
Urban Building Integrated Photovoltaics
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Arno SCHLÜTER (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Dense and Green Cities
Emerging Models of Integrated Urban Development
Principal Investigator: Prof. Sacha MENZ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Urban BioCycles Mycelium Digitalisation
Re-Establishing Bio-Cycles Through Additive and Subtractive Digital Fabrication Strategies
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Philippe BLOCK (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

The Sea-City Interface
The Sea-City Fringes in Rapidly Urbanising Tropical Asian Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Peter MOLNAR (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Agropolitan Territories of Monsoon Asia
Urbanisation and the Inter-Dependence of Future Cities and Future Agriculture
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stephen CAIRNS (SEC)

*(for further PI’s see project website)

Read more

Thinking Future Systems

NSL Newsletter feature on Future Cities Lab Global

ETH News: How cities can grow sustainably

FCL website

© FCL Global

Future Cities Lab Global

Nachhaltige Städte und Siedlungssysteme
Entstanden durch Wissenschaft, Design, vor Ort, im Laufe der Zeit

Das Future Cities Lab Global (FCL Global) befasst sich mit den weltweit bedeutsamen Herausforderungen einer raschen regionalen Veränderung und verfolgt das Ziel, ein besseres Verständnis für die Beziehungen zwischen Städten, ländlichen Gemeinden und ihren Regionen zu ermöglichen, um Siedlungssysteme nachhaltiger zu gestalten.

Die ersten 10 Jahre konzentrierte sich das FCL auf Städte und deren Entwicklung, und erweitert nun als FCL Global seinen Fokus auf die Korridore und Netzwerke, die Städte mit einer Vielzahl anderer Gemeinden und deren Regionen verbindet – also das ökologische System aus Topographie, Wassereinzugsgebieten und Flüssen und dem Infrastruktursystem aus Strassen, Häfen und Airports – im Hinblick auf deren wechselseitigen Auswirkungen auf Landnutzung und Ökologie. Dies wird auch neue Forschungsmethoden und -ansätze fördern und den Gemeinden helfen, ihre Lebensräume auf ganzheitlichere Weise zu gestalten.

FCL Global ist eine Forschungskooperation zwischen der ETH Zürich und drei Universitäten in Singapur – der National University of Singapore (NUS), der Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) und der Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) – die von der Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF) unterstützt wird. FCL Global ist sowohl an die ETH Zürich und das Singapore-ETH Centre (SEC) angeschlossen – einer 2010 von der ETH Zürich und der NRF auf deren CREATE Campus gegründeten Partnerschaft.

Das Forschungsprogramm wird in Zürich von Direktor Prof. Sacha Menz und dem Stellvertr. Direktor Dr. Matthew Skjonsberg geleitet und in Singapur von Direktor Prof. Stephen Cairns und dem Stellvertr. Direktor Dr. Tanvi Maheshwari. Es wird im Verlauf des Programms 120 Designer, Ingenieure, Architekten, Umweltwissenschaftler, Ökonomen und Sozialwissenschaftler zusammenbringen.

Unser Ansatz

FCL Global kombiniert qualitative und quantitative Herausforderungen, grosse und kleine Massstäbe, allgemeine und spezialisierte Sichtweisen unter Einbezug diverser Forschungsdisziplinen, Traditionen und Interessen sowie soziale Bedürfnisse. FCL Global befasst sich sowohl top-down wie bottom-up, mit sozialer Gerechtigkeit durch intakte natürliche Systeme. Über einen interdisziplinären Ansatz hinaus, setzt das FCL Global-Programm aber auch auf einen transdisziplinären Ansatz – beziehungsweise auf die Einbindung lokaler, nicht fachkundiger Interessengruppen und der betroffenen Bewohner, einschliesslich der jungen und alten, ländlichen wie städtischen, all jener Regionen, in welchen die jeweilige Forschung angesiedelt ist.

Das FCL Global-Programm betrachtet Siedlungssysteme und ihre ökologischen wie infrastrukturellen Dimensionen ganzheitlich und arbeitet ebenso ganzheitlich auf der Basis von Wissenschaft, Design, Ingenieurwesen und Governance, um so vier Denkansätze auf einen Nenner zu bringen: wissenschaftlich, designorientiert, direkt vor Ort und über längere und kürzere Zeiträume hinweg.

Durch Wissenschaft

Wissenschaft ermöglicht Nachhaltigkeit, indem Sie die Grundlage zum Verständnis der Entwicklung von Städten und Siedlungen liefert und wie sie auf verschiedenen Niveaus mit ihrer Umwelt interagieren. Siedlungssysteme bestehen aus ökologischen Anlagen und Infrastrukturen, physischen Bestandteilen, Ressourceflüssen, sozialen Institutionen und kulturellen Katalysatoren, deren Interaktionen einen quantifizierbaren „Metabolismus” erzeugen. Der wissenschaftliche Schwerpunkt unserer Forschung besteht darin, zu verstehen, wie solche Metabolismen mit natürlichen Systemen interagieren und wie sie nachhaltig geplant werden können.

Durch Design

Ein nachhaltiges Siedlungssystem muss auch lebenswert sein. Aber um diese Lebensqualität zu erreichen, muss das Siedlungssystem zwingend entsprechend entworfen werden – und diese Gestaltung beginnt mit einem genauen Blick auf den lokalen Kontext. Gestaltung ist ein Prozess der Zusammenarbeit, der neue Ideen entstehen lässt und sie zum Tragen bringt. Entwurfsfähigkeiten bringen oft widersprüchliche technische, wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Anforderungen (wie z.B. ökologische Nachhaltigkeit, Profit, Komfort, Annehmlichkeiten, Identität, Sicherheit, Zufriedenheit und Wünsche) in einen Dialog, um wandlungsfähige Pläne und Visionen zu schaffen.

Vor Ort

Wissenschaft und Design sind nur dann effektiv, wenn sie spezifischen Orten und dem Leben, das in ihnen gelebt wird, dienen. Orte entstehen durch gemeinsame Prozesse (Wachstum und Niedergang; Wettbewerb und Kooperation; Ebbe und Flut von Kapital, Leuten, Waren und Ideen; und Klimawandel) und differenzierende Faktoren (Geographie, Kultur, Sprache und Geschichte). Unsere Forschung befasst sich mit unterschiedlich gelebten Orten, von kompakten Städten mit hoher Bevölkerungsdichte bis hin zu grossen Siedlungssystemen mit einem Mosaik an ländlichen und städtischen Landnutzungen.

Im Laufe der Zeit

Städte und Siedlungssysteme sind nie das Ergebnis singulärer Handlungen einzelner Institutionen. Sie nehmen vielmehr über längere Zeiträume hinweg Gestalt an – sei es durch die allmähliche Entstehung von historischen Stadtstrukturen und Siedlungslandschaften, oder rasche Änderungen aufgrund von „Modernisierung”. Auch der zeitliche Aspekt einer Veränderung hat eine Verlaufsgeschichte. In diesem Sinne müssen nachhaltige Städte und Siedlungssysteme eher nach zyklischen, als nach linearen Zeitlinien gestaltet werden, die die vielen und vielfältigen Lebenszyklen von Landschaften, Gebäuden und Infrastrukturen einbeziehen.

 

Die erste Phase des FCL Global umfasst acht Forschungsmodule:

Resilient Blue-Green Infrastructures
Enabling Transformation Towards Livable and Climate-Resilient Flood-Prone Landscapes of Tropical Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Adrienne GRÊT-REGAMEY (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)

New Urban Agendas under Planetary Urbanisation
Designing Sustainable Agri-Urbanisms
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Christian SCHMID (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich), Prof. Milica TOPALOVIĆ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

Circular Future Cities
Systemic Innovations Supporting Circular Economies in Construction
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stefanie HELLWEG (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Powering the City
Urban Building Integrated Photovoltaics
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Arno SCHLÜTER (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Dense and Green Cities
Emerging Models of Integrated Urban Development
Principal Investigator: Prof. Sacha MENZ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Urban BioCycles Mycelium Digitalisation
Re-Establishing Bio-Cycles Through Additive and Subtractive Digital Fabrication Strategies
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Philippe BLOCK (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

The Sea-City Interface
The Sea-City Fringes in Rapidly Urbanising Tropical Asian Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Peter MOLNAR (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Agropolitan Territories of Monsoon Asia
Urbanisation and the Inter-Dependence of Future Cities and Future Agriculture
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stephen CAIRNS (SEC)

*(for further PI’s see project website)

Mehr unter:

Thinking Future Systems

NSL Newsletter feature on Future Cities Lab Global

ETH News: How cities can grow sustainably

FCL website