© FCL Global

Future Cities Lab Global

Sustainable Cities and Settlement Systems
Through Science, by Design, in Place, Over Time

Future Cities Lab Global (FCL Global) addresses the globally significant challenges of rapid regional transformation, and aims to create a better understanding of the relationships between cities, rural communities and their surrounding regions, so as to make settlement systems more sustainable.

While the first 10 years of FCL focused on cities and their development, FCL Global now expands that focus to address the corridors and networks connecting cities with a variety of other communities and with their regions – in other words the ecological system of topography, watersheds, and rivers, and the infrastructural system of roads, ports, and airports – in light of their reciprocal impacts on land use and ecology. This will also spark new research methods and approaches, helping communities to shape their habitats in more holistic ways.

FCL Global is a research collaboration between ETH Zurich and three Singapore universities – National University of Singapore (NUS), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) and the Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) –supported by the Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF). FCL Global is co-located at ETH Zurich and at the Singapore-ETH Centre (SEC) – a partnership established in 2010 between ETH Zurich and NRF at its CREATE campus.

The research programme is led in Zurich by Director Prof. Sacha Menz and Associate Director Dr Matthew Skjonsberg, and in Singapore by Director Prof. Stephen Cairns and Associate Director Dr Tanvi Maheshwari. It will bring together 120 designers, engineers, architects, environmental scientists, economists and social scientists over the course of the programme.

Our Approach

FCL Global combines qualitative and quantitative challenges, big and small scales, general and specialized views involving many research disciplines, traditions, and interests, together with social needs. Working both top-down and bottom-up, FCL Global addresses social equity through cultural values, and ecological equity through intact natural systems. Beyond interdisciplinarity, the FCL Global programme addresses transdisciplinarity – that is, engagement with local, non-expert stakeholders and residents of the regions where the research is based, including the young and old, rural and urban.

The FCL Global programme takes a holistic view of settlement systems in their ecological and infrastructural dimensions, and operates holistically from the orientation of science, design, engineering, and governance – bringing together four streams of thought: through science, by design, in place, over time.

Through Science

To achieve sustainability, science provides the basis for understanding how cities and settlement systems develop and interact with the environment at different scales. Settlement systems are composed of ecological armatures and infrastructural armatures, physical stocks, resource flows, social institutions, and cultural catalysts whose interactions generate a quantifiable ‘metabolism’. The scientific focus of our research is to understand how such metabolisms interact with natural systems and how they might be sustainably planned.

By Design

A sustainable settlement system must also be liveable. To achieve liveability, design is essential – and it begins with a close look at the local context. Design is a collaborative process that generates new ideas and brings them to fruition. Design skills bring often conflicting technical, economic, social, and cultural demands (such as environmental sustainability, profit, comfort, convenience, identity, security, satisfaction, and desire) into dialogue to create transformational plans and visions.

In Place

Science and design are effective only if they serve places and the lives that are lived in them. Places result from common processes (growth and decline; competition and cooperation; ebb and flow of capital, people, goods and ideas; and climate change) and differentiating factors (geography, culture, language, and history). Our research addresses diverse lived places, from compact cities with high population densities to extended settlement systems with a mosaic of rural and urban land uses.

Over Time

Cities and settlement systems are never the result of singular actions of individual institutions. Rather, they take shape over time – be it the gradual accretion of historical city fabric and settlement landscapes, or the rapid transformations of ‘modernisation’. The temporality of change also has a trajectory. In this sense, sustainable cities and settlement systems must be shaped according to more cyclical, rather than linear, trajectories, in which the many and varied lifecycles of landscapes, buildings and infrastructures are taken into account.

The first phase of FCL Global includes eight research modules:

Resilient Blue-Green Infrastructures
Enabling Transformation Towards Livable and Climate-Resilient Flood-Prone Landscapes of Tropical Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Adrienne GRÊT-REGAMEY (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)

New Urban Agendas under Planetary Urbanisation
Designing Sustainable Agri-Urbanisms
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Christian SCHMID (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich), Prof. Milica TOPALOVIĆ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

Circular Future Cities
Systemic Innovations Supporting Circular Economies in Construction
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stefanie HELLWEG (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Powering the City
Urban Building Integrated Photovoltaics
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Arno SCHLÜTER (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Dense and Green Cities
Emerging Models of Integrated Urban Development
Principal Investigator: Prof. Sacha MENZ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Urban BioCycles Mycelium Digitalisation
Re-Establishing Bio-Cycles Through Additive and Subtractive Digital Fabrication Strategies
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Philippe BLOCK (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

The Sea-City Interface
The Sea-City Fringes in Rapidly Urbanising Tropical Asian Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Peter MOLNAR (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Agropolitan Territories of Monsoon Asia
Urbanisation and the Inter-Dependence of Future Cities and Future Agriculture
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stephen CAIRNS (SEC)

*(for further PI’s see project website)

Read more

Thinking Future Systems

NSL Newsletter feature on Future Cities Lab Global

ETH News: How cities can grow sustainably

FCL website

© FCL Global

Future Cities Lab Global

Villes et systèmes urbanisés durables produits par la science, le design, sur place, au fil du temps

Le Future Cities Lab Global (FCL Global)aborde les principaux défis internationaux liés à la rapide évolution régionale et poursuit l’objectif d’une meilleure compréhension des relations entre villes, communes rurales et leurs régions en vue de concevoir des systèmes urbanisés durables.

Au cours des 10 premières années, le FCL s’est concentré sur les villes et leur évolution; il élargit désormais, en tant que FCL Global, son analyse aux corridors et réseaux qui relient les villes à une multitude de communes et leurs régions – à savoir le système écologique constitué par la topographie, les bassins versants, les fleuves et le système d’infrastructures de routes, ports et aéroports – du point de vue de leurs interactions avec l’utilisation des sols et l’écologie. Cela donnera naissance à de nouvelles méthodes et approches de recherche et aidera les communes à planifier leurs espaces vitaux de façon plus globale.

FCL Global est une coopération de recherche entre l’ETH Zurich et trois universités de Singapour – la National University of Singapore (NUS), la Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) et la Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) – soutenue par la Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF). FCL Global est aussi bien en lien avec l’ETH Zurich qu’avec le Singapore-ETH Centre (SEC) – un partenariat lancé en 2010 entre l’ETH Zurich et la NRF sur leur CREATE Campus.

Le programme de recherche est dirigé à Zurich par le directeur et prof. Sacha Menz et le directeur suppléant  Dr. Matthew Skjonsberg et, à Singapour, par le directeur et prof. Stephen Cairns et le directeur suppléant Dr. Tanvi Maheshwari. 120 designers, ingénieurs, architectes, scientifiques de l’environnement, économistes et chercheurs en sciences sociales collaboreront au cours du programme.

Notre Approche

FCL Global associe défis qualitatifs et quantitatifs, petite et grande échelles, visions générales et spécialisées en tenant compte de différentes disciplines de recherche, traditions et intérêts, mais aussi besoins sociaux. FCL Global aborde de façon ascendante ou descendante le thème de la justice sociale via des systèmes naturels intacts. Au-delà d’une approche interdisciplinaire, FCL Global mise aussi sur une approche transdisciplinaire – respectivement sur l’intégration de groupes d’intérêts locaux, non professionnels et les habitants concernés, y compris jeunes et personnes âgées, ruraux comme urbains, à savoir toutes les régions concernées par la recherche.

Le programme FCL Global étudie les systèmes urbanisés et leurs dimensions écologiques et infrastructurelles, donc de façon globale sur la base de la science, du design, de l’ingénierie et de la gouvernance, en vue de rassembler quatre approches: scientifique, orientée design, directement sur place et sur de courtes et longues périodes.

Par la science

La science favorise la durabilité en permettant de mieux comprendre l’évolution des villes et zones urbanisées, mais aussi leurs différentes interactions avec l’environnement. Les systèmes urbanisés se composent d’installations et d’infrastructures écologiques, de composants physiques, de flux de ressources, institutions sociales et catalysateurs culturels dont les interactions produisent un «métabolisme» quantifiable. Le point fort scientifique de notre recherche consiste à comprendre comment de tels métabolismes interagissent avec des systèmes naturels et comment les planifier de façon durable.

Par le design

Un système urbanisé durable doit aussi être agréable à vivre. Pour atteindre cette qualité, il doit impérativement être conçu en conséquence, ce qui suppose une prise en compte précise du contexte local. La conception est un processus coopératif qui permet l’émergence de nouvelles idées et leur mise en application. Les missions de conception affrontent souvent des exigences contradictoires, qu’elles soient techniques, économiques, sociales ou culturelles (par ex. durabilité écologique, profit, confort, sécurité, bien-être et souhaits) pour aboutir à des plans et des visions adaptables.

Sur place

La science et le design ne sont alors efficaces que s’ils servent des lieux spécifiques et la vie qui s’y déroule. Les lieux découlent de processus communs (croissance et déclin; compétition et coopération; variations de capital, personnes, marchandises et idées; et changement climatique) et de facteurs différenciateurs (géographie, culture, langage et histoire). Notre recherche étudie des lieux différemment vécus, des villes compactes et très densément peuplées, mais aussi d’importants systèmes urbanisés avec une mosaïque d’utilisations urbaines et rurales.

Au fil du temps

Les villes et systèmes urbanisés ne résultent jamais d’actions significatives d’institutions prises isolément. Ils prennent forme au cours de périodes plus longues – par l’évolution progressive de structures urbaines historiques et de paysages urbanisés, ou par les modifications rapides dues à la «modernisation». La temporalité d’une modification a également une trajectoire. En ce sens, les villes durables et systèmes urbanisés doivent donc être conçus selon des trajectoires plus cycliques que linéaires, tenant compte des cycles de vie nombreux et variés des paysages, bâtiments et infrastructures.

 

La première phase du FCL Global comprend huit modules de recherche:

Resilient Blue-Green Infrastructures
Enabling Transformation Towards Livable and Climate-Resilient Flood-Prone Landscapes of Tropical Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Adrienne GRÊT-REGAMEY (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)

New Urban Agendas under Planetary Urbanisation
Designing Sustainable Agri-Urbanisms
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Christian SCHMID (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich), Prof. Milica TOPALOVIĆ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

Circular Future Cities
Systemic Innovations Supporting Circular Economies in Construction
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stefanie HELLWEG (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Powering the City
Urban Building Integrated Photovoltaics
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Arno SCHLÜTER (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Dense and Green Cities
Emerging Models of Integrated Urban Development
Principal Investigator: Prof. Sacha MENZ (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)*

Urban BioCycles Mycelium Digitalisation
Re-Establishing Bio-Cycles Through Additive and Subtractive Digital Fabrication Strategies
Principal Investigators: Prof. Dr. Philippe BLOCK (D-ARCH, ETH Zurich)

The Sea-City Interface
The Sea-City Fringes in Rapidly Urbanising Tropical Asian Cities
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Peter MOLNAR (D-BAUG, ETH Zurich)*

Agropolitan Territories of Monsoon Asia
Urbanisation and the Inter-Dependence of Future Cities and Future Agriculture
Principal Investigator: Prof. Dr. Stephen CAIRNS (SEC)

*(for further PI’s see project website)

Plus d’informations sur:

Thinking Future Systems

NSL Newsletter feature on Future Cities Lab Global

ETH News: How cities can grow sustainably

FCL website