Prof. Christophe Girot | Landscape Architecture

Christophe Girot has been a Full Professor of Landscape Architecture at ETH Zurich since 2001. In 2005, he founded the Institute for Landscape Architecture (ILA). In addition to his academic activities, he is a practising landscape architect and owner of the Atelier Girot in Zurich.

More

The Chair of Landscape Architecture is organised in three parts: the DesignLab, the MediaLab and the TheoryLab.

In the DesignLab, large-scale landscape projects are developed using design methods that combine traditional landscape architecture with advanced CNC modelling techniques. It also researches new design methods and digital tools, drawing in current developments in information technology and tested in a landscape-specific problem.

The MediaLab applies a repertoire of different audio-visual media in order to stimulate a critical examination of the perception of landscapes. The creative potential of visual and acoustic effects and presentation methods in landscape architecture is continuously researched, reflected upon and refined.

The TheoryLab illuminates the history of landscape architecture in the 19th and 20th centuries and promotes theory building in the profession with current international themes. The lecture series of the TheoryLab provides an insight into the history and theory of landscape architecture and encourages a reflective understanding of design.

The findings from research and education as well as from anthologies on theoretical questions are presented in the publication series Pamphlet. The scientific publication series Landscript, supported by an international editorial board, is devoted to contemporary landscape aesthetics and the immanence of landscape architecture in our culture.

In 2010, the Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab LVML was founded together with Adrienne Grêt-Régamey (IRL), and is supplemented by an AudioVisual Lab that started in Spring 2016.

Prof. Christophe Girot | Landschaftsarchitektur

Christophe Girot ist seit 2001 ordentlicher Professor für Landschaftsarchitektur an der ETH Zürich. Im Jahr 2005 gründete er das Institut für Landschaftsarchitektur (ILA). Neben seiner akademischen Tätigkeit ist er praktizierender Landschaftsarchitekt und Inhaber des Ateliers Girot in Zürich.

Mehr

Die Professur ist in drei Arbeitsbereichen organisiert: DesignLab, MediaLab und TheoryLab.

Im DesignLab werden grossmassstäbliche Landschaftsprojekte entwickelt, die traditionelle Landschaftsgestaltung mit fortschrittlichen CNC-Modellbautechniken kombinieren. Darüber hinaus werden neue Entwurfsmethoden und digitale Werkzeuge unter Einbeziehung aktueller Entwicklungen der Informationstechnologie erforscht, und innerhalb einer landschaftsspezifischen Fragestellung überprüft.

Das MediaLab verwendet ein Repertoire an unterschiedlichen, audiovisuellen Medien, um eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der Wahrnehmung von Landschaft zu fördern. Kontinuierlich wird dabei das gestalterische Potential von visuellen und akustischen Wirkungs- und Darstellungsweisen in der Landschaftsarchitektur erforscht, reflektiert und verfeinert.

Das TheoryLab beleuchtet die Geschichte der Landschaftsarchitektur des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts und treibt mit aktuellen, internationalen Themen die Theoriebildung der Profession voran. Die Vorlesungsreihen des TheoryLabs geben Einblicke in die Geschichte und Theorie der Landschaftsarchitektur, und regen ein reflektiertes Entwurfsverständnis an.

Die Ergebnisse aus Forschung und Lehre sowie Anthologien zu theoretischen Fragestellungen werden in der Publikationsreihe Pamphlet vorgestellt. Die wissenschaftliche Publikationsreihe Landscript mit internationalem Editorial Board widmet sich zeitgenössischer Landschaftsästhetik sowie der Immanenz von Landschaftsarchitektur in unserer Kultur

Im Jahre 2010 wurde zusammen mit Adrienne Grêt-Régamey (IRL) das Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab LVML gegründet, das seit Frühjahr 2016 durch ein AudioVisual Lab ergänzt wird.