Prof. Christophe Girot | Landscape Architecture

Christophe Girot has been a Full Professor of Landscape Architecture at ETH Zurich since 2001. In 2005, he founded the Institute for Landscape Architecture (ILA). In addition to his academic activities, he is a practising landscape architect and owner of the Atelier Girot in Zurich.

More

The Chair of Landscape Architecture is organised in three parts: the DesignLab, the MediaLab and the TheoryLab.

In the DesignLab, large-scale landscape projects are developed using design methods that combine traditional landscape architecture with advanced CNC modelling techniques. It also researches new design methods and digital tools, drawing in current developments in information technology and tested in a landscape-specific problem.

The MediaLab applies a repertoire of different audio-visual media in order to stimulate a critical examination of the perception of landscapes. The creative potential of visual and acoustic effects and presentation methods in landscape architecture is continuously researched, reflected upon and refined.

The TheoryLab illuminates the history of landscape architecture in the 19th and 20th centuries and promotes theory building in the profession with current international themes. The lecture series of the TheoryLab provides an insight into the history and theory of landscape architecture and encourages a reflective understanding of design.

The findings from research and education as well as from anthologies on theoretical questions are presented in the publication series Pamphlet. The scientific publication series Landscript, supported by an international editorial board, is devoted to contemporary landscape aesthetics and the immanence of landscape architecture in our culture.

In 2010, the Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab LVML was founded together with Adrienne Grêt-Régamey (IRL), and is supplemented by an AudioVisual Lab that started in Spring 2016.

Prof. Christophe Girot | Architecture du paysage

Christophe Girot est depuis 2001 professeur titulaire d’architecture du paysage à l’ETH Zurich. Il a créé en 2005 l’Institut d’architecture du paysage (ILA). Parallèlement à son activité d’enseignement, il exerce comme architecte paysagiste et dirige l’Atelier Girot à Zürich.

Plus

La chaire est organisée en trois domaines de travail : DesignLab, MediaLab et TheoryLab.

Dans le DesignLab sont développés des projets de paysage à grande échelle qui associent l’aménagement traditionnel du paysage aux techniques avancées de maquette en CNC. De nouvelles méthodes de conception et des outils digitaux intégrant les derniers développements de la technologie d’information sont également étudiées, puis soumises à un questionnement spécifique au paysage.

Le MediaLab exploite un répertoire de différents médias audiovisuels pour favoriser une confrontation critique avec la perception du paysage. À cette occasion, le potentiel formel des modes d’action et de représentation visuels et acoustiques dans l’architecture du paysage est étudié, réfléchi et affiné de façon continue.

Le TheoryLab revient sur l’histoire de l’architecture du paysage des 19ème et 20ème siècles et, par des thèmes actuels, internationaux, fait progresser la formation théorique de la profession. La série de cours du TheoryLab apporte des éclairages sur l’histoire et la théorie de l’architecture du paysage et incite à une approche réfléchie du projet.

Les résultats de la recherche et de l’enseignement, ainsi que des anthologies d’interrogations théoriques, sont présentés dans la série de publications Pamphlet . Forte d’un comité éditorial international, la série de publications scientifiques Landscript se consacre à l’esthétique contemporaine du paysage, ainsi qu’à l’immanence de l’architecture du paysage dans notre culture.

Le Landscape Visualization and Modeling Lab LVML a été créé en 2010 en association avec Adrienne Grêt-Régamey (IRL) ; il a été complété au printemps 2016 par un AudioVisual Lab .