Master of advanced studies in urban design 2017

The Master of Advanced Studies in Urban Design ETH programme is a research and design laboratory to test new models for the pro-active development of urban territories of a globalized world.

As the making of the city is increasingly fractured by competing interests, the development of new modes of urban production becomes a prerequisite for well-considered action.

The MAS in Urban Design studio produces a new generation of design professionals — one equipped to deal with topics beyond the discipline.

The MAS in Urban Design is a one-year postgraduate master programme in research and design, structured around an investigation of urban conditions as they pertain to global phenomena and the development of practical tools for operating within such domains. As global economics rapidly reshape urban conditions and population movements caused by economical, ecological, or political crises—at a speed seemingly beyond the control of planning— the pace of urbanization has rendered the formal provision of habitation almost impossible. The MAS programme aims to link social, economic, and ecological circumstances to create new and resilient ways of shaping urban territories. The MAS works with strategies as much as with tactics to redefine today’s role of architects and planners in the making of a city and find new territories for design to be applied.

The MAS programme seeks design professionals interested in the investigation and development of tools for use in complex conditions. A culture of inquiry within the studio encourages the development of strong urban scenarios. Emphasis is put on method, incremental design, and tools of communication to prepare participants for interdisciplinary work within design offices, academic teams, or municipal agencies.

An excursion related to studio research is conducted midway through the first semester. On-site research for the studio project, visits to other relevant areas, and meetings with municipal and community organizations provide sufficient understanding of the context in which studio production will operate.

Thematic Focus

Inclusive Urbanism for an Inclusive World

Inclusive World

Within the last years, phenomena that have mostly been found in the context of the “global south” increasingly appear within what we call the “global north”. Crises such as political conflicts, the bankruptcy of cities and countries, and extreme environmental conditions have led to fundamental social and economic consequences that appear especially drastic within urban and semi-urban territories. Economic models that divide the world into south and north, first, second, and third worlds can no longer rely on an ordered value chain of guaranteed revenue.

Social Inclusivity

Social inclusivity is of growing interest in the context of globalization and growing mobility of people. The globally increasing number of refugees is only the tip of an evolution towards increasing population movements. Countries, cities, and neighbourhoods that have inclusive qualities, that are able to offer opportunities to those who arrive and thus profit from their abilities and goals, can benefit from this development and help prevent social frictions and economic inequality.

Functional Inclusivity

Functional Inclusivity of neighbourhoods and cities is a key impetus to solve both local and global challenges on the scale of urban territories. The inclusion of functions that have been separated and subtracted from the urban territory since the beginning industrialization of the last centuries, triggers and accelerates development towards more sustainable ways of production and refinement, and relieves the challenges posed by the transport of people and goods.

Inclusive Urbanism II: Tangier-Marseille

They must remember that they are constantly on the run, and that the world’s reality is actually expressed by their escape.

Hannah Arendt, «On Humanity in Dark Times: Thoughts about Lessing»

This town is made of many things/Just look at what the current brings
So high, it’s only promising/This place was made on you
Tell me, baby, what’s your story/Where you come from
And where you wanna go this time?

Red Hot Chili Peppers, «Tell me Baby». (2006). [CD] MoeBeToBlame.

 

Migration is not a new phenomenon. While our era is based on a mythology of geographical mobility and global migratory circulations, history reveals that migration is not a modern condition. In the quest for a better, safer life, people have always moved. But it has never been such a pressing topic than in the wake of Europe’s refugee crisis. These movements are unlikely to slow down in the near future, with enduring armed conflicts, economic hardships, and predicted climate change-induced mass migration. Crises have shed a dramatic light on the movements of people as a rapid, ubiquitous, complex, and eminently spatial phenomenon. Circulations of people, goods, and capital, as much as their resettlement, have a visible, transformative impact upon space, at various scales.

The territorial scale is contained in the physical act of going from one place to another: crossing legal borders and national frontiers, oceans and water bodies, mountain ranges and manmade obstacles. From one countryside to another, flows of people transiting through productive landscapes imprint the intermediary scale of hinterlands and peripheries. But as migrants overwhelmingly aim for urban areas as entry point into new destinies, it is at the urban scale that the most impact of flux is felt. The economic, political, and social influence of migration shaped cities in many ways and continues to do so, with visible effects on architecture and urban forms.

Within the framework of ‘Inclusive Urbanism,’ and after exploring the ‘Arrival City’ theme, the MAS program is tackling questions of migration and urban space. Arguing that urban design is an innovative, resilient, and politically powerful tool for architects and planners to address such complex matters, and moving away from emergency solutions (e.g. refugee camps, transit centers), we explore the notion of ‘staying’ somewhere.

 

Connecting the shores of Asia, Africa, and Europe, the Mediterranean Sea is the epicenter of constant, ongoing population movements, and was historically crucial to the development of global civilization.  Mare Nostrum, with its geography connecting a constellation of harbor-cities attached to their hinterlands, is a critical space of migration and trade. It is also a contested, brutally controlled region overburdened with past and present exploitation, colonization, and violence. Geographers, historians, and sociologists such as Fernand Braudel, Nicolas Purcell, Peregrine Horden, Henri Lefebvre, Ian Chambers, and Michael Herzfeld have analyzed it as such. In such a context, it appears logical to handle points of departure and destinations with equal importance, possibly to reverse established paradigms. Two harbor-cities of the Mediterranean Sea are our operative sites, from one shore to another: Tangier-Marseille. With a foot on each side of the Mediterranean Sea, equal importance is given to points of departure and destinations, to reverse established paradigms of movements.

Inspecting the political, economic, and social reasons behind migration and the spatial conditions attached to both departure and arrival sites; the question of the relevance of design will be addressed. How can urban designers tackle such as situation? What does moving for a longer period of time and settling down socially, economically and culturally entails spatially at urban, rural and peri-urban scales? What can be the response of design to the notion of ‘staying’, in the framework of an inclusive urbanism practice?

These questions are crucial and should not leave architects indifferent, at a time when the capacity of design to respond adequately to such political and social challenges is not evident.

 

Charlotte Malterre-Barthes, Program Director

Website MAS Urban Design

Master of Advanced Studies ETH en aménagement du territoire 2017

Le studio MAS en aménagement du territoire de l’ETH est un laboratoire de recherche et de projet qui teste de nouveaux modèles en vue du développement proactif de territoires urbains d’un monde globalisé.

Étant donné que l’évolution urbaine est toujours plus écartelée entre des intérêts concurrents, la mise au point de nouvelles formes urbaines est la condition d’une action réfléchie.

Le studio MAS en aménagement du territoire forme une nouvelle génération d’expert(e)s en conception qui se confronteront aussi à des thèmes extérieurs à la discipline cœur.

Le studio MAS en aménagement du territoire est un programme de master d’une année dédié à la recherche et au projet. Les études s’appuient sur une analyse des conditions urbaines liées aux phénomènes globaux et à la mise au point d’instruments pratiques destinés à une activité dans de tels domaines. Étant donné que l’économie globale façonne de façon toujours plus rapide – à une vitesse qui semble échapper à toute conception contrôlée – les conditions urbaines et les mouvements de population par des crises économiques, écologiques et politiques, le rythme de l’urbanisation a rendu presque impossible l’aménagement anticipé des espaces d’habitation. Le programme MAS tente de relier entre elles les circonstances sociales, économiques et écologiques afin d’obtenir une conception nouvelle et flexible des territoires urbains. Le studio MAS travaille également avec des stratégies et des tactiques, pour redéfinir le rôle des architectes et des concepteurs dans la création de la ville d’aujourd’hui et proposer de nouvelles approches en matière de conception.

Le programme MAS recherche des professionnel(le)s du design intéressé(e)s par la recherche et à la mise au point d’instruments d’aménagement utilisés dans des conditions complexes. Une culture de recherche et de projet au sein du studio favorise l’élaboration de prévisions efficaces du point de vue de l’écriture de tels scénarios urbains. L’accent est à cette occasion placé sur la méthodologie, la conception de processus et les instruments de communication censés permettre aux participant(e)s de travailler de façon interdisciplinaire dans des agences de conception, des équipes académiques ou des services d’urbanisme.

Une excursion autour du thème de recherche du studio est prévue à la moitié du premier semestre. La recherche sur le terrain liée au projet du studio, la visite d’autres domaines proches et des rencontres avec des structures urbaines et communales fournissent à cette occasion le contexte de la production du studio.

Points forts thématiques

Urbanisme intégratif en faveur d’un monde intégratif

Monde intégratif

Des phénomènes sont apparus ces dernières années, principalement dans le contexte du sud global, mais de plus en plus souvent dans ce que l’on appelle le nord global. Des crises comme les conflits politiques, la faillite d’États et de villes, ainsi que des conditions environnementales extrêmes ont eu de dramatiques conséquences sociales et économiques qui laissent des séquelles ouvertes dans des zones urbaines et semi-urbaines. Les modèles économiques qui séparent le monde en sud et nord, en un premier, un second et tiers-monde, ne peuvent plus se reposer sur une chaîne de création de valeur stable de revenus garantis.

Intégration sociale

Dans le contexte de la globalisation et de la mobilité croissante des personnes, l’intégration sociale devient toujours plus importante. L’augmentation du nombre mondial de réfugiés n’est que la partie émergente d’une évolution vers une croissance continue de la population. Les pays, villes et quartiers disposant de propriétés intégratives et qui sont en mesure d’offrir des opportunités aux nouveaux arrivants et, en échange, de bénéficier de leurs aptitudes et de leurs projets, peuvent tirer profit de cette évolution et contribuer ainsi à éviter des tentions et des inégalités économiques.

Intégration fonctionnelle

L’intégration fonctionnelle de quartiers et de villes est un stimulant essentiel pour affronter les défis aussi bien locaux comme globaux à l’échelle des territoires urbains. L’intégration de fonctions qui, depuis le début de l’industrialisation des siècles précédents, se sont détachées de l’environnement urbain et s’y sont soustraites, favorise et accélère la formation de formes plus durables de production et de développement et nous décharge ainsi des défis liés au transport des personnes et des marchandises.

Urbanisme inclusif II : Tanger-Marseille

Il faut garder à l’esprit que l’on est permanence en fuite et que la fuite est la réalité dans laquelle le monde s’annonce.

Hannah Arendt : « De l’humanité aux époques sombres : réflexions sur Lessing »

This town is made of many things/Just look at what the current brings
So high, it’s only promising/This place was made on you
Tell me, baby, what’s your story/Where you come from
And where you wanna go this time?

(Cette ville est faite de nombreuses choses/Il suffit de regarder ce que le courant charrie
Si haut et prometteur/Ce lieu est-il conçu pour toi
Raconte-moi, chérie, ton histoire/D’où viens-tu
Et où souhaites-tu cette fois aller ?)

Red Hot Chili Peppers, « Tell me Baby ». (2006). [CD] MoeBeToBlame.

 

La migration est loin d’être un phénomène nouveau. Alors que notre ère repose sur une mythologie de la mobilité géographique et de la circulation globale par les migrations, l’histoire montre que la migration n’est pas une découverte des modernes. À la recherche d’une vie meilleure et plus sûre, les hommes n’ont eu cesse de se déplacer au loin. Mais jamais autant que maintenant, sur fond de crise des migrants en Europe, un thème d’une telle urgence. Ces mouvements ne se ralentiront pas dans un proche avenir en raison des conflits armés continus, des situations de crise économique, sans oublier les vagues de réfugiés climatiques annoncées. Les crises ont dramatiquement mis en scène le déplacement des personnes sous la forme d’un phénomène rapide, omniprésent, complexe et surtout spatial. Les circuits de personnes, de marchandises et de capitaux, ainsi que leur transfert sont visibles et transforment l’espace – selon différentes proportions.

La dimension territoriale est contenue dans l’acte physique du déplacement d’un lieu à un autre : dans la traversée de frontières légales et nationales, d’océans et de cours d’eau, de chaînes montagneuses et d’obstacles dressés par l’homme. De pays en pays, des flux de personnes traversant des paysages productifs marquent la dimension intermédiaire entre arrière-pays et périphérie. Étant donné la préférence accordée par les migrants aux zones urbaines pour refaire leur vie, les conséquences du changement se ressentent essentiellement dans les villes. L’influence économique, politique et sociale de la migration a marqué et marque encore les villes à de nombreux points de vue, avec des effets visibles sur l’architecture et l’évolution urbaine.

Dans le cadre de l’« urbanisme inclusif » et de la confrontation avec le thème « ville d’arrivée », le programme MAS aborde des questions autour de la migration et de l’espace urbain. Nous étudions la notion du « rester » quelque part à partir de l’argument selon lequel l’urbanisme est un outil innovant, performant et politiquement puissant permettant aux architectes et concepteurs de s’emparer de thèmes complexes et d’écarter de simples solutions d’urgence (camps de réfugiés, centres de transit, etc.).

La mer Méditerranée qui relie les côtes d’Asie, d’Afrique et d’Europe constitue l’épicentre de déplacements constants et durables de populations ; elle a joué un rôle historique majeur dans la constitution d’une civilisation globale. Avec sa géographie qui relie une constellation de villes portuaires et leurs différents arrière-pays, la Mare Nostrum est un espace critique de migration et de commerce. C’est également une région disputée, faisant l’objet d’un contrôle brutal, qui a été et reste dominée par l’exploitation, la colonisation et la violence. Des géographes, des historiens et des sociologues comme Fernand Braudel, Nicolas Purcell, Peregrine Horden, Henri Lefebvre, Ian Chambers et Michael Herzfeld l’ont analysée en tant que telle. Il semble logique, dans un tel contexte, de traiter de façon équivalente les points de départ et d’arrivée –  si possible en renversant des paradigmes établis. Nos interventions portent sur deux villes portuaires de la Méditerranée, d’une rive à l’autre : Tanger-Marseille. Avec un pied de chaque côté de la Méditerranée, la même signification est accordée aux lieux de départ et d’arrivée pour renverser des paradigmes établis sur les mouvements de populations. L’étude porte sur les contextes politiques, économiques et sociaux de la migration et les conditions sociales qui règnent dans les lieux de départ et d’arrivée ; la question de la pertinence de la conception est également abordée. Comment les urbanistes peuvent-ils réagir à de telles situations ? Que signifient des changements de lieux et l’intégration sociale, économique et culturelle, dans un lieu et sur une longue période, à des échelles urbaines, rurales et périurbaines ?

Quelle peut donc être la réponse de la conception à la notion du « rester » dans le cadre d’une pratique urbaine intégrative ?

Ces questions sont d’une importance décisive et ne devraient pas laisser les architectes indifférents ; surtout à une époque où la capacité du projet à réagir de façon appropriée à de tels défis politiques et sociaux ne fait pas l’unanimité.

 

Charlotte Malterre-Barthes, directrice de programme

 

Site Web MAS Aménagement du territoire