Prof. Dr. h. c. Günther Vogt | Landscape Architecture

Günther Vogt has been Associate Professor for Landscape Architecture at the ETH Zurich Department of Architecture since September 2005. He has also been operating his own offices in Zurich, London and Berlin since 2000.

More

Aspects of Landscape Architecture

Professor Vogt’s interests lie in the role of nature as part of the city. Landscape is not surroundings that are aesthetically staged, but rather superordinated spatial categories in which the architecture, infrastructures and free spaces are integrated to make spaces for human possibilities. Their complexity comes out of their unpredictability, their relationality and the processuality in relationship networks between space and living beings. Thus, beyond the ideal aesthetic images of Arcadia, landscape is being subjected to permanent development. It is process and product.

City nature in public spaces creates a field of tension between original growth and design. Identical building modules in quite different manifestations and functional combinations unfold through the underlying contrast of its poetic power.

Landscape architecture archetypes, such as park plaza promenades, courtyards, cemeteries, monuments and gardens, are symbols of society’s images of utopia and paradise in an urban context. The interactions with socio-political currents and the temporal aspects of landscape architectural designs are understood here as parts of the urban culture.

Prof. Günther Vogt | Architecture du paysage

Günther Vogt est depuis septembre 2005 professeur titulaire d’architecture du paysage à l’ETH Zurich, département d’architecture. Depuis 2000, il dirige sa propre agence, le Büro Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten à Zurich, Londres et Berlin.

Plus

Aspects de l’architecture du paysage

L’intérêt de la chaire du professeur Vogt au sein du Réseau Ville et Paysage à l’ETH Zurich se porte sur la nature en tant que partie de la ville. Le paysage n’est pas un environnement mis en scène de façon esthétique, mais une catégorie spatiale supérieure dans laquelle s’insèrent les architectures, les infrastructures et les espaces libres en tant qu’espaces humains de potentialités. Sa complexité résulte de son caractère imprévisible, relationnel et processuel dans l’enchevêtrement de relations entre espace et êtres vivants. Le paysage est donc soumis à une évolution permanente, loin de l’image idéale esthétique de l’Arcadie. Elle est à la fois processus et produit.

La nature-ville dans l’espace urbain engendre le champ de tension entre végétation sauvage et aménagement. Des éléments identiques dans des formes d’apparition et des corrélations fonctionnelles différentes déploient leur force poétique par leur contraste inhérent.

Des archétypes d’architecture du paysage comme le parc, la place, la promenade, la cour, le cimetière, le monument et le jardin sont des symboles d’utopies sociales et des idéaux paradisiaques dans un contexte urbain. Nous comprenons la confrontation avec les courants sociaux-politiques et les aspects temporels dans les projets d’architecture paysagère comme une partie de la culture urbaine.